Skip to content

US University OPT Fee List ​

Published 2026-06-21
Updated at 2026-10-08
Views —

Many US universities' international student offices charge students who apply for OPT or STEM OPT a fee of their own, on top of the USCIS filing fee. The name varies by school; common ones are OPT Administrative Fee, Post-Completion Services Fee, and OPT SEVIS Maintenance Fee.

Among the 29 schools in the table below, post-completion OPT fees range from $85 to $423 and STEM OPT fees from $175 to $650. Most schools charge more for STEM OPT than for post-completion OPT.

This is a school fee, not the USCIS filing fee

The fees in this table are paid to the school. They are separate from the I-765 filing fee paid to USCIS ($470 online, $520 on paper), and you usually pay both.

Why schools charge ​

The federal regulation for F-1 students (8 CFR 214.2(f)) mentions only the USCIS filing fee and the SEVIS fee. It says nothing about school OPT fees, so each school decides whether to charge and how much.

Schools charge because the regulation gives them a duty that continues after graduation: once a school recommends OPT, it must maintain the student's SEVIS record for the entire OPT period. 8 CFR 214.2(f)(11)(ii):

When a DSO recommends a student for OPT, the school assumes the added responsibility for maintaining the SEVIS record of that student for the entire period of authorized OPT, consistent with paragraph (f)(12) of this section.

STEM OPT involves more work: every 6 months the student must confirm their SEVIS information with the DSO, report changes and unemployment within 10 days, and submit a self-evaluation every year (see Study in the States). By then the student has graduated and no longer pays tuition. When the University of Minnesota started charging for STEM OPT in January 2026, it said so plainly:

Alumni on STEM OPT do not currently pay fees because they are no longer enrolled as students; however, the initial STEM OPT recommendation and the ongoing reporting requirements for alumni on STEM OPT generate a significant amount of work for ISSS.

Schools that state what the fee covers all describe maintaining SEVIS records, processing reports, and continued advising. None of the schools in the table says the fee pays for verifying employers; for why that matters, see OPT 出事,谁收钱、谁背锅 (in Chinese).

School Fee Overview ​

Amounts are in US dollars, checked against each school's official website in October 2026.

SchoolStateFee namePost-completion OPTSTEM OPTRefundsSource
Arizona State University (ASU)AZOPT Case Management Payment200300Not statedOPT, STEM
University of ArizonaAZOPT Case Management Fee150300Only if the school finds you ineligible; none after filing with USCISOPT, STEM, Refunds
UC BerkeleyCAPost-Completion Services Fee250595Not statedOPT, STEM
UCLACADashew Center Visa Services Fee423423Non-refundableFee schedule
UC San DiegoCAAdministrative Processing Fee250595Only if the school finds you ineligibleOPT, STEM
UC IrvineCAPost-Completion Administrative Fee100300Only if the school finds you ineligibleFee FAQ
San José State University (SJSU)CAAdministrative Post-Completion OPT / STEM OPT fee150300Not statedOPT, STEM
Stanford UniversityCABechtel I-20 processing feeCharged; amount not listedCharged; amount not listedNot statedOPT, STEM
University of Southern California (USC)CAOIS administrative processing feeNot mentioned200Non-refundableSTEM
University of FloridaFLSTEM OPT Administrative ChargeNot mentioned250; 500 if you apply within 30 days of your EAD expiringNot statedSTEM
Georgia TechGAPractical Training Fee35 per authorizationNot mentionedRefundable if the internship can't be completed for reasons outside your controlFee page
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC)ILOPT Management Fee100Not mentionedNot statedOPT
Illinois Institute of TechnologyILOPT / STEM OPT Administrative Fee100200Not statedOPT, STEM
Indiana University BloomingtonINSTEM extension processing feeNot mentionedCharged; amount not listedNot statedSTEM
Northeastern UniversityMAOGS Post-Graduation Administrative Fee / STEM OPT administrative fee200400Not statedOPT, STEM
Boston UniversityMAprocessing fee100200Not statedOPT, STEM
MITMAMIT Administrative Fee150 (only for OPT longer than 100 days)300 (200 before April 2026)STEM OPT fee non-refundableOPT, STEM
University of Minnesota Twin CitiesMNSTEM OPT/AT feeNo fee (stated on the website)400 (from January 2026)Not statedNotice, STEM
Columbia UniversityNYOPT Administration Fee / STEM OPT Administration Fee340650Not statedOPT, STEM
Cornell UniversityNYOPT service fee / OPT STEM service maintenance fee225325Non-refundableOPT, STEM
New York University (NYU)NYMaintenance of Status Fee125200Not statedOPT payment page, STEM payment page
Pace UniversityNYISS OPT Administrative Fee125175Non-refundable once the school issues the I-20OPT, STEM
Oregon State UniversityOROIS Processing FeeNot mentioned190Not statedSTEM
University of Pennsylvania (Penn)PAPenn Internal Processing Fee305290 or 305 (two pages disagree)Not statedOPT, STEM
Southern Methodist University (SMU)TXOPT SEVIS Maintenance Fee102204Not statedOPT checklist, STEM checklist
Texas A&M UniversityTXInternational Student Post Enrollment Maintenance Fee200Charged; amount not listedNot statedOPT, Catalog
University of Texas at AustinTXOptional Practical Training Administrative Fee150300 (charged even if your employer files for you)Not statedFees
University of Texas at DallasTXPractical Training Fee150300Not statedOPT, STEM
University of Washington (Seattle)WAPost-Completion Training Fee85200Only if the school finds you ineligible, minus $5Fee page

Notes on the table:

  • "Not mentioned" means the school's OPT page lists only the USCIS filing fee and no school fee. It does not prove the school charges nothing.
  • Pre-completion OPT: Cornell, Stanford and SMU state that they don't charge for it; Minnesota states that it doesn't charge for the first 12-month OPT application.
  • Three schools contradict themselves. Penn's OPT overview says 305 for STEM OPT, while its STEM page says 290. UT Dallas's international office pages say 150 and 300, while its 2026 catalog says 100 per practical training application. UCLA's fee schedule revised in July 2026 says 423, while its STEM OPT guide still says 380.
  • Other fees: USC charges a separate non-refundable $100 for Cap-Gap extensions, and Georgia Tech charges its $35 for every CPT and OPT authorization.

Schools Whose Websites Don't Mention a School Fee ​

Purdue University, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Duke University, Carnegie Mellon University, Rutgers University, Stevens Institute of Technology, Syracuse University, University of Utah, Santa Clara University, University of Colorado Boulder.

Their OPT and STEM OPT pages list only the USCIS filing fee. That doesn't mean they never charge; check your school's notices before applying.

Before You Pay ​

  • Schools collect the fee before issuing the OPT I-20. UIUC states that it processes the new I-20 only after payment; ASU, SMU and Cornell require you to upload the payment receipt with your request.
  • Fees are rarely refunded. Usually the only refund case is when the school finds you ineligible. The University of Arizona states that there is no refund after the application is filed with USCIS, or if USCIS denies or delays the I-765.
  • Late applications cost more. The University of Florida raises its STEM OPT charge from $250 to $500 if you apply within 30 days of your OPT EAD expiring.
  • The fee pays for record-keeping and advising. After charging, the school maintains your SEVIS record and processes reports; it does not verify your employer for you.

Adding a School ​

If your school isn't listed, add a row in the same format: take the fee name, amount and refund rule from the school's official website, and link the official page in the "Source" column. For a school that needs a longer explanation, create a separate page named after the school in this folder.